Books for H1-2017

Books for first half, not included non-literary or fantasy books, as I read enough of that without needing any prompting.

Ended up being just six books, but that is definitely good enough as that leaves more room for fresh ideas later in the year.

Atlas Shrugged – Ayn Rand

Mainly to know what all the fuss is about, especially since I have some friends I really respect who are objectivists so I want to avoid the lazy dismissal of Ayn Rand without having actually read her that is so common.

To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee

Because it’s such a famous book that I feel it’s a hole in my general education.

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Jazz era, plus I’ve gotten this impression that the book contains a lot of layers that the movie obviously did not.

The Road – Cormac McCarthy

Since I loved the movie (and the soundtrack) and am way too pretentious to admit to not having read the actual novel when it comes up in discussions.

Story of the Eye – Georges Bataille

Over the years, many people with good taste have talked about George Bataille, so it’s time I read something of his.

The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula K. Le Guin

Another case of filling a hole in my general (nerd) education.

Leave a Reply

